First 2 pages of my 1st Altered Book

9 02 2008

For the last few months I’ve been intrigued by Altered Books.  I wanted to make one, even though it will just be a few pages.  Finally, I was able to get the book I wanted to use for my project. Now the hard part was coming up with a theme to work with.  Then I realized that Valentine’s day being a week away, I might as well  make it about LOVE. It’s perfect!  I can make an art project about how much I love my husband. =)


There are a few challenges I’ve discovered so far in making my first 2 pages. First, trying to come up with a different concept per page. Secondly, learning how to use different forms of media. Thirdly, finding my creativity in visual art and trying to convey it through the book. And finally, being patient.

As it turns out, I have to be extremely patient when I’m working on an altered project. This is one craft I can’t finish in one sitting. Mind you, I have to wait for the paint to dry, find the exact words to use and perfect embellishments to put on. And lastly having to carefully adhere everything on the paper and once again, let it dry before I can consider my work done.It’s amazing though. I’m the kind of person who likes instant gratification. I now have a new found appreciation to waiting and slowing down….

You make me so happy

Faith

Actions

Information

One response

14 03 2008
Louise

Amazing, fun, and creative. Isn’t it wonderful how creative projects like altered books slow us down? Keep up the good work!
Louise

Leave a Reply

